Email Address: Password:   Forgot ?
To enter an event or receive the latest Targa news: Sign Up

Showroom wrap - end of 5

When you’re competing against the likes of motorsport champion Jim Richards in your category, Michael Minshall probably wasn’t contemplating claiming the RDA Brakes Showroom Sports category title.
Andrew Bollom won Showroom
But Minshall and Kirrilee Gentleman took the honours in what became a two horse race between two Audis (his 2011 Audi TTRS and Glyn Crimp and Paul van der Mey’s 2012 model) after Richards crashed out.

For the first three days of competition, Targa veterans Jim Richards and Barry Oliver had dominated but Minshall capitalised when Richards came off in the wet on day four.

An eight-time Targa Tasmania winner, Richards had been competing for the first time in the Showroom Sports category in a brand new 2014 Porsche Cayman S.

“This is our best Targa result ever and much as it’s fantastic for me, it’s still a shame we won’t get to share the podium with Jim (Richards),” Minshall said.

“Yesterday (Saturday) with all the rain was hard. You had to concentrate and you actually had to drive slower sometimes.”

With a handy lead going into day five, Minshall only had to make sure he crossed the finish line to claim the title.

“It’s not necessarily the toughest event we’ve done, but some of the stages were very tough in themselves,” he added.

Undoubtedly, the most convincing category win in this year’s Targa Tasmania belonged to Andrew Bollom and Lee Challoner-Miles in RDA Brakes Showroom.

Bollom, competing in a 2011 Renault Megane RS 250, had an emphatic win; almost 17 minutes ahead of his nearest rival.

“It’s a sensational result for us and better than we could have hoped for. The conditions played into our hands a bit and we’ve been managing to keep it smooth,” Bollom said.

The event category was left wide open after favourite Adam Spence, in his 2013 Renault Megane, missed stages on day one and was out of contention.

Bollom seized on the opportunity and never looked back, leaving contenders well behind on all five days of competition.

“Our aim at the start of the championship was to have both cars on the podium in every round and we’ve achieved that now, so it’s a nice result for the team as well,” he said.

It took five days to shake off their challengers, but the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X team of Clinton Arentz and Dale Moscatt are celebrating victory in the RDA Brakes 4WD Showroom category.

It was undoubtedly the closest tussle of Targa Tasmania with each day tightly fought between Arentz and the Subaru team of Ben Newman and Crichton Lewis.

“It’s a fabulous result for us.

“We were on the podium last year in modern and it was a calculated decision for us to drop back into showroom four-wheel-drive.

“I’m so pleased I did because the competition’s been so intense and we’ve got tremendous admiration and respect for our competitors,” Arentz said.

Arentz came into the last leg a minute and a half ahead of Newman. No doubt, he wasn’t quite ready to consider popping the champagne until Newman dropped 53 seconds on Mount Arrowsmith; pushing Arentz’s lead out to two and a half minutes.

“We paced ourselves and gone a little bit harder each day,” Arentz said.

“As the confidence was building we were winding up the pace.

“We’ve been working on building our margin since yesterday (Saturday).

“The wet conditions didn’t bother us, so we’ve been in attack mode for the last two days of the event, taking advantage of the conditions where we could.”


RDA Brakes Showroom 
1. Andrew Bollom/Lee Challoner-Miles, 2011 Renault Megane RS 250
2. Andrew Robinson/Thomas Browell, 2013 Mini John Cooper Works GP, +16min 58s
3. Adam Spence/Erin Kelly, 2013 Renault Megane RS 265, +42min 28s

RDA Brakes 4WD Showroom
1. Clinton Arentz/Dale Moscatt, 2009 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
2. Ben Newman/Crichton Lewis, 2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STi, +2min 23s
3. Ralph Norton/Malcolm Norton, 2010 Subaru Impreza WRX STi, +12min 38s
4. Barrie Smith/Jan Smith, 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer EVO X, +14min 36s
5. Gregory Burrowes/Rhonda Burrowes, 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +23min 42s

RDA Brakes Showroom Sports
1. Michael Minshall/Kirrilee Gentleman, 2011 Audi TTRS
2. Glyn Crimp/Paul van der Mey, 2012 Audi TTRS, +4min 46s

Vale - Lester Marshall

It is with great sadness we advise the Targa family that 28-year veteran official Joy Marshall lost her husband Lester on Friday 15 November to cancer. 
read more

Stokell and Downey secure prestigious CAMS awards

Queenslander Paul Stokell has landed back-to-back CAMS Australian Targa Championships following his stellar season.
read more

What the drivers said - Day 3 of THC

Our reporter caught up with many of the leading drivers and class winners at the finish at Mt Buller today. Fair to say, they were all glad that they had made it to the finish.
read more

Great finish to 10th Anniversary Targa High Country

Jason White and his uncle John White tamed tricky conditions to surge to a fourth Outright win in the demanding Targa High Country.
read more