Email Address: Password:   Forgot ?
To enter an event or receive the latest Targa news: Sign Up

The Return Of The Cams Australian Targa Championship

THE LARGEST motor sport championship in Australia returns in 2018, with all eight Targa competitions being included, to give EVERY Targa competitor a championship to compete in. 
Another major first will see the introduction of two OVERALL Championships that will be recognised as CAMS National Championships.  One will cover the Early Modern, GT2 and GT4 competitions and the winners will be crowned the CAMS Australian Targa Champions.  The other will cover Classic and Classic GT competitions and the winners will be crowned the CAMS Australian Targa Classic Champions, with both winning teams being invited to the CAMS National Awards dinner each year, to receive their accolades alongside the winners of the Australian Rally Championship and the Supercars Championship.
It is great news for Targa and tarmac rallying competitors across the country.  To finally be recognised in this way, will inspire many competitors to achieve new goals and has already seen the introduction of new manufacturers for 2018, along with increased involvement from our current manufacturers next year.
The championship will be contested over all four events with the announcement in October of Targa Great Barrier Reef added to Targa North West, Targa Tasmania and the final round at Targa High Country, where the competitors with the most total points from the four rounds will be crowned the inaugural CAMS Australian Targa Champions in their respective competitions, at a new dinner to be held on Sunday 11th November
The points table and Sporting Regulations will be released in the first week of January,with these regulations mostly replacing the current supplementary regulations, issued for each Targa event. The supplementary regulations will now simply contain any information relevant to the specific event, with the Targa North West and Targa Tasmania versions,being released in mid-January.
Make sure you’re at Targa North West to potentially get a head start on your rivals in the chase for Targa glory in 2018.

Targa’s Strong Future

Targa Australia and the Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) can today confirm they have signed off on a new, five-year agreement.

The news means the CAMS Australian Targa Championship will continue for at least another five years, until 2022.

read more

Targa North West Entries Close 1st February

As the inaugural round of the new CAMS Australian Targa Championship,  Targa North West has been expanded to two days and more than 160km in competitive length, including the fantastic run into and out of Savage River.
read more

Rookies Of The Year 2018 Award Announced

Also forming an integral part of the new CAMS Australian Targa Championship, will be a Rookies of the Year Award, to be awarded at the Championship Dinner at Targa High Country.
read more

Manufacturers Championship Announced For 2018

As part of the new CAMS Australian Targa Championship, there will also be a manufacturers title on the line with the highest two placed vehicles from each competing manufacturer in the Overall Modern section, being awarded allocated points towards a manufacturers total points.

Who can beat the might of Porsche when it comes to being the best Targa cars in the country?  Only time will tell.

read more