Email Address: Password:   Forgot ?
To enter an event or receive the latest Targa news: Sign Up

CAMS Australia Targa Championship points update

After the running of Round 2 of the CAMS Australian Targa Championship at Targa Tasmania, a number of competitors have claimed a strong position in the various competitions that make up the championship.

Now officially the country’s largest national motorsport championship in terms of competitors, with a total of 157 different vehicles competing so far this year, the Outright competitions for Modern and Classic cars has seen both round one leaders maintain their places at the top. 

Steve Glenney and Andy Sarandis in their 2015 Subaru WRX STi finish 2nd overall at Targa Tasmania along with winning the RDA Brakes GT4 competition.  Whilst just hanging in there all week, slightly off the pace of the Whites Viper and Close/Reeves GT3RS, they drove a smart race and made sure that they were there at the end to make the most of any opportunity that would present itself.  Day 6 saw Close crash out and Glenney grab a well-earned 2nd place along with a handy lead in GT4.  Ensuring that they stay in the hunt, Paul Stokell and Erin Kelly had a great run in their 2014 Lotus Exige S to claim 2nd in Wrest Point GT2, as did John Ireland and Janet Binns in their new Dodge Viper ACR to now be 3rd in the Modern Outright Championship.

Incredibly, the stricter GT rules now in place for the modern cars continues to deliver a far broader range of vehicles at the front, with the top five championship places currently held by five different manufacturers from four countries, leaving this championship wide open at the half way mark.

Michael and Daniel Bray were never headed in Classic Outright with their Holden Torana being the clear leader from Day 3 onwards after the shock departure of defending Targa Tasmania champions, John & Gina Siddons after they crashed heavily on the Weldborough Pass stage whilst battling Bray for the lead.  Bray’s lead is now just 26 points ahead of Peter Gluskie and Samantha Winter in their 1985 BMW 325i, surprising many as they maintained consistent times throughout in winning their Gold Targa Tasmania Plates.  Third are Targa stalwarts, Ted Banks and Bruce Douglas in their rare 1971 Porsche 916.

Classic saw the incredible run of the `Jimmy’ continue, in spite of a 20% tougher handicap for round two and the much longer Targa Tasmania course.  Graham Copeland and Josh Herbert in their 1941 GMC Jimmy Special, defied the odds to win at Targa Tasmania, with their car finishing in bits and running on just four cylinders.  The near perfect weather dished up all week saw them take full advantage as their competition waited for the car to ultimately stop at some point, but it wasn’t to be, as Copeland and Herbert limped over the line to claim an historic win and a well-earned rest after 2,000 kilometres in a car that most wouldn’t race for a lap at the local race track, let alone race over some of the toughest roads in the world. 

In Early Modern, round one leaders Tony Quinn and Kate Catford exited early with various technical issues in their Porsche 996 Turbo, paving the way for Joshua Sutcliffe & Jon Mitchell to win Targa Tasmania in their 2006 Subaru S204 and take the championship lead from the consistent Peter Roberts and Suzanne Atkins in their 1992 Nissan Skyline GTS-t.

GT Sports Trophy saw the return of Martin Duursma and Richard Woodhams in their 2013 Lotus Exige S to claim a comfortable win and now sit second in the championship behind Richard Woodman and Marcus Towle in their 2004 Subaru WRX STi.  

Targa Tasmania Hall of Famers, Jack Waldron and Vin Gregory showed that a Mitsubishi Sigma can go fast with a win in Thoroughbred Trophy that now sees them in second behind Geoff Storr and Steve Caplice after they had another great run in their 1978 Alfa Romeo Alfetta GTV.

TSD Trophy continues to be hotly contested amongst the front runners and Targa Tasmania again saw a lot of controversy play out each day with regular front-runners, Darryl and Peter Marshall in their 2002 Ford Falcon Pursuit 250 Ute claiming the win and moving into second place overall behind Jeffrey Wilson and Ian Samson in their 2010 Subaru WRX Sti.

Round three sees the inaugural running of Targa Great Barrier Reef from 31st August to 2nd September and it promises to be an incredible event held in some very unique landscapes.  With more than 180 entries already committed and a 200 car maximum field, all of the current front runners will be there to ensure that they remain in the hunt to win a prestigious CAMS Australian Targa Championship title at Targa High Country in November.

Targa Great Barrier Reef 2019 Spectator Guide

The spectator guide for the second ever Targa event in Queensland is now available.

To ensure you get to see all the action as it unfolds, we have produced a special detailed guide where you will read how best to view all of the Targa action. 

read more

Targa Great Barrier Reef 2019 Course

The route for the second edition of the highly anticipated Targa Great Barrier Reef has been revealed.

Again comprising three legs with the stunning backdrop of Tropical North Queensland around Cairns and the Atherton Tablelands, the event features an expanded route from that used in the inaugural Targa Great Barrier Reef in 2018.

read more

Targa Tasmania 2019 TV Show Broadcast Time & Date

Here’s what you’ve all been waiting for...The official broadcast of Targa Tasmania 2019!

This Sunday July 14 2019 on Channel Nine (Tasmania, TDT) at 1pm in Melbourne/Perth/Hobart, and 12:30pm Adelaide

Saturday August 3 2019 on Channel Nine at 12pm in Sydney/Brisbane

*Please check local guides as times may vary*

read more

Who’s excited for Targa Great Barrier Reef?

Are you excited for Targa Great Barrier Reef? Plan your trip with a little help from those in the know of what there is to see and do.

read more